We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Dog Years

by Joel Sires

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $4.99 USD  or more


Prisoners 03:45


Joel Sires has a deep musical past. He has played with many talented musicians while a member of Cedar Valley legends Teddy Boys and TWINS. Joel’s songs combine so many elements of music as well as bits and pieces of the artists we know and love. His catalog allows each listener to connect to his original music.

“Dog Years” is the first solo release by Joel Sires. This 4 song release features Joel’s strongest songs to date recorded with an amazing band. Joel is joined by Jacob Lampman on lead guitar, Graham Howland on bass (SIRES, Peas and Carrot), Ben Rendall on piano (Solo, TWINS) and Seth Luloff on drums (Holy White Hounds). Joel adds both guitar and voice to these understated and powerful songs.

Listeners will be immediately captured by the songs recorded in August of 2020 at Oddfellow Recording in Shell Rock, Iowa by Seth Luloff. Joel's songs on “Dog Years” capture feelings of reflection and longing. The music and lyrics leave the listener feeling wistful and in spite of that heaviness, hopeful. There are deep spaces in these songs that allow them to breathe and for each listen to catch a line or a note that is masterfully placed. The release opens with a song titled, “Mexican Fireworks” including the line, “Even a chump like me can get lucky sometimes…” Side one ends with a song called, “The Late Great Jessie Gates” with the masterful lyric: “There’s nothing left to lose, after her shadow cuts her loose…” The song “Prisoners” opens side two, “The damage is done because that part is so easy, we’re not prisoners clearly, we’re just too afraid to run…” The final song, “Poison Valentine”, leaves the listener with the question, “Will you ever forgive me, kid, for all the stupid things I did?” With each of the songs the band creates a folk rock feel that serves as a perfect backdrop for these deeply crafted stories.

“Dog Years” is the first release on Seeder Records. It will be available on exclusive 10 inch vinyl via their Bandcamp page.


released April 15, 2021

Produced, engineered and mixed by Seth Luloff at Oddfellow Recording in Shell Rock, Iowa on August 8, 2020. Mastered by Justin Perkins at Mystery Room Mastering in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Joel Sires - vocals and acoustic guitar
Seth Luloff - drums, accordion, vocals and guitar
Ben Rendall - piano and keyboard
Graham Howland - bass and vocals
Jacob Lampman - lead guitar


all rights reserved



Seeder Records Cedar Falls, Iowa

Releasing music on vinyl is what we do. Based in a little college town in Iowa, we have one core mission...to release music on vinyl records by musicians who treat music as art...plant the seed and watch it grow.

contact / help

Contact Seeder Records

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Dog Years, you may also like: